The Black Opera is slated to release its The Great Year album September 30 via Mello Music Group.  

The forthcoming project from the self-described collective of intellectuals, musicians, creators, artists and agents features 12 cuts, including the single “No Water,” which is available for stream below.

The group says that it had a specific idea while making “No Water.” “Imagine a world where water is the most valuable commodity, even more valued than oil or gold,” The Black Opera says in a press release. “What would happen if water became so scarce that it caused World Wars? ‘No Water’ puts a spin on this idea and takes a satirical look at water through the lens of an excessive Rap culture where splurging on water is the new wave.”

The Black Opera Tour is slated to go on tour with Jaded Inc (Mayer Hawthorne & 14KT) next month. The itinerary is as follows: 

Sept 06  –  Rough Trade – Brooklyn, NY

Sep 12  –  Subterranean – Chicago, IL

Sep 13  –  The Blind Pig – Ann Arbor, MI

Sep 26  –  The Chapel – San Francisco, CA

Sep 27  –  Bootleg Theatre – Los Angeles, CA

The Black Opera’s The Great Year cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

01.  Behold The Opera [prod. by yU]

02.  God Speed [prod. by Arjun Singh]

03.  No Water [prod. by Jansport J]

04.  Rich Like You [prod. by Slot A]

05.  Feedback [prod. by Jansport J]

06.  Beginning Of The End feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow [prod. by Tall Black Guy]

07.  Golden Silence [prod. by Arjun Singh]

08.  Black Nirvana [prod. by Arjun Singh]

09.  Never Saw It Coming [prod. by Arjun Singh & TBO]

10.  Character Assassination feat. Kashia Bleu [prod by 14KT & TBO]

11.  Talking Revolution [prod. by Arjun Singh]

12.  Up And Up [prod. by Waajeed]  

(August 12, 2014)

UPDATE: The stream of The Black Opera’s The Great Year album is now available.

It is as follows:

RELATED: HipHopDX Release Dates